Best Inositol Supplements Compared: Ratio, Form, Dose and Third-Party Testing
11 min read
A registered dietitian and clinician review is being arranged for this site. Until this article carries a named reviewer, treat it as a well-sourced summary of published guidance — not as a substitute for advice about your own case.
The short answer
PCOS trials used 4,000 mg myo-inositol to 100 mg D-chiro-inositol daily, a 40:1 ratio. Ovasitol and Wholesome Story both match that exact ratio and dose, and both carry third-party testing, so the real choice between them is form and price, not effectiveness. Plain myo-inositol alone costs less and has its own separate trial base.
(PCOSguides may earn a commission on some links below at no extra cost to you — full affiliate disclosure.)
Is there a single best inositol supplement?
No — there is a best-matched supplement for the dose that was actually tested, and several products hit it. What decides “best” here is not a brand name. It is whether a product’s label matches the ratio and daily amount used in the trials that generated PCOS evidence in the first place, and whether an independent body has verified that the bottle contains what the label claims.
What ratio and dose actually has trial support?
Forty parts myo-inositol to one part D-chiro-inositol is the specific combination with the most PCOS trial support, not an arbitrary marketing number. The 2013 International Consensus Conference on myo-inositol and D-chiro-inositol concluded that a 40:1 ratio reflects the physiological balance naturally found in ovarian tissue, and recommended myo-inositol dosed at 2 g twice daily — 4 g total — for PCOS. A 2020 mechanistic review explains why the ratio matters biologically: myo-inositol acts as a second messenger for FSH in the ovary, while D-chiro-inositol works as a local aromatase inhibitor, and the combined 40:1 formulation was built to mirror how the two behave together in ovarian tissue rather than in isolation.
That gives you two numbers to check on any label before anything else: 4,000 mg of myo-inositol and 100 mg of D-chiro-inositol, per full daily dose. A product with a different ratio, or one that lists only “inositol” without specifying which form, is not the studied combination — which does not make it useless, but it does mean the PCOS trial evidence above does not apply to it directly.
Ovasitol vs Wholesome Story: how do they actually compare?
Both hit the studied numbers, which is the main thing. Ovasitol, made by Theralogix, delivers 2,000 mg myo-inositol plus 50 mg D-chiro-inositol per scoop — two scoops a day matches the full 4,000 mg/100 mg trial dose exactly. Wholesome Story’s myo & D-chiro inositol powder is built to the same ratio and the same per-scoop numbers. Read the current label on whichever bottle you are holding before you buy, since manufacturers do occasionally reformulate, but as sold at the time of writing the two products are nutritionally near-identical on the specification that matters most.
Where they differ is format and certification path, not the active ingredient math. Ovasitol ships as a powder only, dissolves in water or a non-carbonated drink, and its packaging states it is made in an NSF-certified facility. Wholesome Story sells both a powder and a capsule version of the same 40:1 blend, and its inositol line carries Clean Label Project purity certification in addition to NSF-certified manufacturing — useful if pills fit your routine better than a scoop does, since the powder-only Ovasitol does not give you that option. Theralogix also sells Ovasitol Plus, a version of the same base powder with chromium and vitamin D3 added — what those two extra ingredients change, and whether they are worth the price difference, is a separate question from the Wholesome Story comparison above.
Price varies by retailer and country and changes over time, so treat any number you see quoted elsewhere as a snapshot, not a current fact — check the live price on the brand’s own site or a major retailer before buying either one. What is stable is the comparison that matters: on ratio and dose, they are functionally the same product; on format flexibility, Wholesome Story’s capsule option is the point of difference.
What is the cheapest myo-inositol supplement for PCOS?
Plain myo-inositol powder with no D-chiro-inositol added — sold by brands such as NOW Foods — is reliably the lowest cost per gram in this category, because it is a single, widely manufactured ingredient rather than a two-part blend with its own consistency testing. It is also a genuinely different product from Ovasitol or Wholesome Story, not a cheaper version of the same thing.
That does not make it the wrong choice by default. A meta-analysis of randomized trials comparing myo-inositol alone against metformin in women with PCOS found comparable short-term improvements in insulin resistance and hormonal markers between the two — myo-inositol on its own has its own trial base, separate from the combined 40:1 formulation. If budget is the constraint, plain myo-inositol at 4 g a day is a legitimate, evidence-supported choice. It is simply answering a different question than “which 40:1 blend should I buy,” and the two should not be judged against each other as though one were a discount version of the other.
Is Ovasitol worth it, or is Theralogix inositol the same thing?
Theralogix is the manufacturer; Ovasitol is the product name. There is no separate “Theralogix inositol” distinct from Ovasitol — searching for either should land you on the same 40:1 powder.
Whether it is “worth it” depends on what you are paying for beyond the base ingredients. You are not paying for a different level of PCOS evidence — the 40:1 ratio and 4 g dose are the trial target regardless of brand. You are paying for NSF-certified manufacturing, a single-ingredient powder with no fillers, dyes or artificial flavours, and a company that has built its catalogue specifically around fertility and metabolic supplementation. If an equivalent-spec, equivalently certified product costs less, the evidence gives you no reason to pay more for the name alone.
Powder or capsules — which should you actually buy?
The trial dose is 4,000 mg of myo-inositol a day, and that is the practical reason powder tends to win this comparison: a typical inositol capsule holds around 500 mg, so hitting 4 g means swallowing roughly eight capsules daily, split across two doses, against two level scoops of powder dissolved in a drink. Powder also lets you titrate the dose exactly, which matters if you are starting low to manage the gastrointestinal side effects some people report in the first one to two weeks.
Capsules win on portability and on taste — inositol powder is not unpleasant, but it is not flavourless either, and some people would rather take a pill at a desk than mix a drink. If that is the deciding factor for you, a 40:1 capsule product such as Wholesome Story’s capsule line solves it without giving up the studied ratio; Ovasitol does not currently offer a capsule format, so it is not an option if capsules are a hard requirement.
What about other 40:1 brands on the shelf?
Ovasitol and Wholesome Story are not the only two companies selling a 40:1 myo-inositol to D-chiro-inositol blend — several other supplement brands, including some marketed specifically at fertility or PCOS, sell formulas built to the same ratio. The comparison method above applies to every one of them equally: check the label for 4,000 mg myo-inositol and 100 mg D-chiro-inositol per full daily dose, and check for an independent certification seal rather than a manufacturer’s own claim of purity. A newer or less well-known brand that discloses both numbers clearly and carries third-party testing has met the same bar as either product profiled above. One that hides the ratio behind “inositol complex” language, or that only lists a combined total without a breakdown, has not — regardless of how the packaging is marketed.
This is also why “best inositol brand” does not have one stable answer: brand formulations, certifications and retail availability change, while the underlying trial specification does not. Re-check the current label against the 40:1, 4 g target each time you buy, rather than assuming a brand that qualified last year still does.
What does third-party testing actually verify?
Dietary supplements in most markets are regulated as food, not as drugs — a manufacturer does not need to prove a bottle’s contents match its label before selling it. Third-party certifications such as NSF, USP or Clean Label Project exist to close exactly that gap: an independent lab verifies the labelled ingredients are actually present at the stated amount, checks for contaminants such as heavy metals, and — for NSF specifically — audits the manufacturing facility itself against Good Manufacturing Practice standards.
This is not a hypothetical concern. A 2024 analysis of weight-loss dietary supplements sold near US military bases found meaningful mismatches between labelled and actual ingredient content in some products — a different supplement category from inositol, and the finding should not be read as evidence about inositol brands specifically, but it illustrates the general point: nobody checks a supplement label for accuracy before it reaches a shelf unless a certification body has. That is the entire, unglamorous case for paying attention to a seal on the bottle rather than the marketing copy around it.
| Product | Ratio | Daily myo-inositol | Form | Third-party testing | Wrong for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ovasitol (Theralogix) | 40:1 | 4,000 mg (2 scoops) | Powder only | NSF-certified facility | Anyone who needs a capsule, not a mixed drink |
| Wholesome Story (powder) | 40:1 | 4,000 mg (2 scoops) | Powder | Clean Label Project + NSF-certified facility | No meaningful downside versus Ovasitol on spec |
| Wholesome Story (capsules) | 40:1 | 4,000 mg (multiple capsules) | Capsule | Clean Label Project + NSF-certified facility | Anyone who dislikes swallowing several capsules daily |
| Plain myo-inositol only (e.g. NOW Foods) | No D-chiro-inositol | 4,000 mg | Powder | Varies by brand — check current certification | Anyone specifically wanting the 40:1 combination trials |
| Unlabelled “inositol blend” products | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Varies | Varies — often none stated | Anyone trying to match a specific trial dose |
Who this will not help
If you are looking for a supplement to replace metformin, letrozole, or another prescribed treatment, none of the products above are positioned as that in the trials cited — myo-inositol and D-chiro-inositol were studied as an insulin-sensitising supplement comparable in the short term to metformin on some markers, not as a fertility drug or a replacement for ovulation induction, and the 2023 international guideline treats inositol as an option to discuss, not a first-line prescription. If your priority is confirming whether a cycle is ovulatory at all rather than which supplement to take, the comparison of ovulation tests built for PCOS’s unusual LH pattern answers a different, and for some people more urgent, question than this page does. And if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, or already taking metformin or a thyroid medication, that is a conversation for your clinician before adding any inositol product — dosing and interaction data in those specific situations were not the focus of the trials summarised here.
Also worth knowing: this condition was renamed in 2026, when more than 50 organisations reached a global consensus to call it polyendocrine metabolic ovarian syndrome, or PMOS, rather than PCOS. The inositol evidence above is unaffected by the name change — this article uses PCOS because that is what most readers are searching.
For a fuller breakdown of what inositol does and does not do in PCOS beyond this specific ratio question, see the complete evidence summary here, and for the biology behind why 40:1 specifically was chosen over myo-inositol alone, this explainer on the two forms goes deeper.
More product comparisons built the same way — spec first, marketing second — sit in the site’s ranked guide to PCOS products.
Common questions
Is Ovasitol worth it?
It matches the studied 40:1 ratio and 4 g daily dose exactly, and is made in an NSF-certified facility. It is not more effective than another product hitting the same specification — you are paying for format (powder only) and certification, not superior evidence.Ovasitol vs Wholesome Story — which is better?
Both match the 40:1 ratio and 4,000 mg daily myo-inositol dose used in the trials, and both carry third-party certification. Wholesome Story also sells a capsule version; Ovasitol is powder only. On the numbers that determine trial-matching, they are equivalent.What is the cheapest myo-inositol supplement for PCOS?
Plain myo-inositol powder without added D-chiro-inositol, such as NOW Foods, is typically the lowest cost per gram. It is a different, separately trial-supported product from the 40:1 combination formulas, not a discount version of them.What is Theralogix inositol?
Theralogix is the company that makes Ovasitol. There is no separate "Theralogix inositol" product — Ovasitol is the name of their 40:1 myo-inositol and D-chiro-inositol powder.What is the best inositol brand?
There is no single best brand — several products match the 4,000 mg myo-inositol to 100 mg D-chiro-inositol trial dose and carry third-party testing. Check the label for those two numbers and a certification seal rather than choosing on brand recognition alone.Should I take inositol powder or capsules?
Powder makes it easier to reach the 4 g trial dose without swallowing multiple capsules, and lets you adjust the amount if you get initial stomach upset. Capsules are more portable and avoid the taste of a mixed drink, at the cost of taking several pills a day.
- Best Snacks at Costco for PCOS: What's Actually Worth the MembershipCostco snacks for PCOS compared by protein, fibre and sugar per serving — rotisserie chicken to Kirkland bars — so bulk size doesn't mean bulk sugar.
- Best Snacks to Buy at Trader Joe's for PCOS, by the LabelTrader Joe's snacks for PCOS compared by protein, fibre and sugar per serving — jerky to dried mango — so the cheerful packaging doesn't hide the sugar number.
- Best Frozen Meals for PCOS: Protein, Carbs and Sodium ComparedSix frozen meals compared on protein, carbohydrate, fibre and sodium per pack, the protein threshold that actually holds hunger, and how to fix a low-protein one.
- Best Greens Powder for PCOS: What the Proprietary Blend Label HidesNo greens powder has PCOS-specific evidence. A label-by-label comparison of blend disclosure, fiber grams, and lab-tested contamination in spirulina products.
Sources
- 1.Facchinetti F, Bizzarri M, Benvenga S, et al. Results From the International Consensus Conference on Myo-Inositol and D-Chiro-Inositol in Obstetrics and Gynecology: The Link Between Metabolic Syndrome and PCOS. Eur J Obstet Gynecol Reprod Biol. 2015.
- 2.Facchinetti F, Unfer V, Dewailly D, et al. Inositols in Polycystic Ovary Syndrome: An Overview on the Advances. Trends Endocrinol Metab. 2020.
- 3.Facchinetti F, Orrù B, Grandi G, Unfer V. Short-Term Effects of Metformin and Myo-Inositol in Women With Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS): A Meta-Analysis of Randomized Clinical Trials. Gynecol Endocrinol. 2019.
- 4.Teede HJ, Tay CT, Laven JJE, et al. Recommendations From the 2023 International Evidence-Based Guideline for the Assessment and Management of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2023.
- 5.Crawford C, Lindsey AT, Avula B, et al. Label Accuracy and Quality of Select Weight-Loss Dietary Supplements Sold on or Near US Military Bases. Nutrients. 2024.
- 6.Teede HJ, Khomami MB, Morman R, et al. Polyendocrine Metabolic Ovarian Syndrome, the New Name for Polycystic Ovary Syndrome: A Multistep Global Consensus Process. Lancet. 2026.