Skip to content

Written by Sarah Collins · Every article cited · Reviewed on a schedule

How we source
PCOSguides
All topics

1000 articles planned across 8 sections. Each one carries a minimum of three primary sources.

Best Greens Powder for PCOS: What the Proprietary Blend Label Hides

10 min read

Written by Sarah CollinsChecked against peer-reviewed analyses of algae and cyanobacteria supplement contamination, and FDA dietary supplement labeling regulationLast reviewed Published

A registered dietitian and clinician review is being arranged for this site. Until this article carries a named reviewer, treat it as a well-sourced summary of published guidance — not as a substitute for advice about your own case.

The short answer

No greens powder has been tested in PCOS specifically. Most also hide their exact ingredient amounts inside a legal “proprietary blend,” so you cannot tell a studied dose from a dusting. A typical serving supplies 2 to 6 grams of fiber, against a 25-to-30-gram daily target, and lab testing has found arsenic and cyanotoxins in some spirulina-based products.

This comparison uses publicly listed label data and published contaminant testing, not first-hand testing. It carries no product links or commission — full affiliate disclosure policy for the site.

Is There Any PCOS-Specific Evidence for Greens Powders?

No. A search of the PCOS trial literature turns up nothing testing a commercial greens powder, or even a matched blend of dehydrated vegetable and algae powders, against a PCOS outcome — not insulin resistance, not androgens, not cycle regularity. Individual ingredients that sometimes appear inside these blends have their own separate evidence — the evidence-ranked PCOS supplements guide and a PCOS multivitamin’s declared nutrients cover examples — but that evidence was generated on the isolated ingredient at a specific studied dose, not on a 15-to-75-ingredient powder blended for general wellness. Buying a greens powder for a PCOS symptom is buying on the strength of the individual ingredients you can identify and dose-check, not on any trial of the product itself.

What Does “Proprietary Blend” Actually Hide?

A federal labeling rule lets a manufacturer list every ingredient in a blend by name, in descending order by weight, while disclosing only the blend’s total combined weight — not what any single ingredient inside it weighs. FDA’s own labeling guide confirms this directly: a proprietary blend must be named and its ingredients listed in order of predominance, with the total blend weight declared, but no individual amount is required. A label reading “Green Superfood Blend (5,000 mg): kale, spinach, spirulina, chlorella, wheatgrass, barley grass” tells you the combined weight of six ingredients and their rank order, and nothing else. The first ingredient listed could be 4,900 mg and the rest a rounding error, or it could be a genuinely even split — the label makes both scenarios look identical.

This is not unique to greens powders — the same rule and the same workaround apply across the supplement aisle — but the category leans on it more than almost any other, because “blend” is the entire product concept. A protein powder or a single-ingredient capsule has little to hide behind a blend name; a 20-to-75-ingredient greens formula is built almost entirely out of one.

Which Greens Powders Actually Disclose Their Amounts?

Disclosure practice varies by brand, and it is checkable on the label or the product’s own website without needing a lab. The pattern below, current as of publication, illustrates the spread rather than ranking every product on the market — reformulations happen, so confirm the current label before buying rather than trusting a photo in a listing.

Table 1 — ingredient disclosure, certification, and fiber content across four widely sold greens powders.
ProductIngredient disclosureThird-party certificationFiber per serving
AG1 (Athletic Greens)Proprietary blends — around 75 ingredients across four named blends; individual amounts not disclosedNSF Certified for Sport — a genuine, checkable markAbout 2 g per 12 g serving
Bloom Greens & SuperfoodsProprietary blends across every category on the label, including its own “fiber blend”Manufacturer states “third-party tested”; no NSF, USP, or Informed Sport/Choice mark identified on the labelAbout 2 g per serving
Organifi Green JuiceTwo named proprietary blends (5.1 g and 1.45 g); individual amounts not disclosedManufacturer states “third-party tested”; no NSF, USP, or Informed Sport/Choice mark identified on the labelAbout 3 g per 9.3 g serving
Transparent Labs GreensFully disclosed — every ingredient listed with its own milligram amount, no blendInformed Choice certified — a genuine, checkable markAbout 6 g (20% DV) per serving

The split above is the actual buying decision: two of these four name a real, independently checkable certification (the same USP/NSF/Informed Sport marks explained in full here), and two make a “third-party tested” claim without a mark you can verify at the certifying body’s own database. A marketing claim and a checkable certification are not the same thing, and the label alone will not tell you which one you are looking at unless you search the exact product name on USP’s, NSF’s, or Informed Sport’s own site.

Are Greens Powders a Vegetable Substitute?

No — even the highest fiber content in the table above, roughly 6 grams, covers under a quarter of the 25-to-30-gram daily fiber target, and most greens powders on the market supply closer to 2 grams. A cup of cooked spinach or a half-cup of lentils delivers comparable or greater fiber alongside water content, potassium, and the intact plant structure that processing strips out of a dehydrated powder. The “equivalent to several servings of vegetables” language some brands use on packaging describes concentrated micronutrient or antioxidant content, not fiber and not a nutritional replacement for eating the vegetable — no serving-equivalence claim of that kind is independently audited the way a certification mark is.

Does the Vitamin K in a Greens Powder Interact With Warfarin?

It can, and the risk here is less about the total amount and more about not knowing it changed. Products built around concentrated kale, spinach, or algae powder can carry several dozen micrograms of vitamin K per serving — declared on the label, since manufacturers cannot hide a nutrient with an established Daily Value inside a blend — while other formulas built mainly from grasses or fruit powders carry very little. A systematic review of two interventional trials and nine observational studies found conflicting evidence on low-level dietary vitamin K’s effect on anticoagulation, with a clearer effect on INR appearing mainly above roughly 150 micrograms a day, and concluded that maintaining a stable, consistent intake mattered more than restricting it. Read plainly: the danger is not vitamin K itself, it is starting or stopping a source of it without your anticoagulation team knowing, which is exactly what adding a new daily powder does if nobody checks the label first.

Is Heavy-Metal or Cyanotoxin Contamination in Greens Powders a Real Risk?

Yes, specifically in the spirulina and algae-based ingredients common to this category, and it is documented in testing of actual retail products rather than a theoretical concern.

Table 2 — published contaminant testing of algae- and cyanobacteria-based supplement ingredients.
StudyWhat was testedWhat was found
Cheyns et al., 202133 commercial food supplements containing algae or cyanobacteriaTotal arsenic ranged 0.053–57 mg/kg; 8 of 33 products carried an inorganic-arsenic level of concern for higher-risk population groups, and 7 of 33 were flagged even for the general population once all toxic arsenic species were counted
Rhoades et al., 20235 commercially available spirulina products (2 supplements, 3 foods)Microcystin cyanotoxins were detected in all 5 products at levels that could lead a consumer to exceed recommended daily limits; potentially pathogenic bacteria, including Bacillus cereus and Klebsiella pneumoniae, were also identified

The 2021 arsenic survey found the highest concentrations specifically in supplements containing brown algae, and its authors called for actual regulatory limits on arsenic species in this category, which do not yet exist. The 2023 spirulina survey tied its contamination finding to how spirulina is grown — in open ponds vulnerable to contamination by other toxin-producing cyanobacteria — rather than to any single bad manufacturer, meaning the risk is structural to the ingredient’s typical production method, not a one-off recall situation. A genuine third-party certification (USP, NSF, Informed Sport/Choice) is the closest a buyer can get to a check on this, since those programmes test for contaminants directly; a “third-party tested” claim with no checkable mark is not the same protection.

Who Should Not Bother With a Greens Powder?

Anyone hoping it will move a specific PCOS marker — insulin resistance, androgens, cycle regularity — since no trial evidence exists for the product category at all; that money is better spent on an ingredient with its own PCOS-specific dose evidence. Anyone using it in place of vegetables, since even the best-disclosed product in the table above covers a small fraction of the daily fiber target and none of the water or potassium whole food carries. Anyone on warfarin or another vitamin K antagonist who has not checked the vitamin K line and told their prescriber. And anyone pregnant, immunocompromised, or otherwise more sensitive to a contaminant margin, given the documented arsenic and cyanotoxin findings above in an unregulated category with no enforced contaminant limit yet in place.

Also worth knowing: PCOS was renamed polyendocrine metabolic ovarian syndrome (PMOS) in 2026 by a global consensus of more than 50 organizations. Nothing about the evidence above changed with the name — this article uses PCOS because that is still the term most readers search.

Your Next Step

If you buy a greens powder anyway, treat the label the way this page does: search the exact product name on USP’s, NSF’s, or Informed Sport’s own database rather than trusting a badge in a listing photo, read the vitamin K line if you are on an anticoagulant, and do not count its fiber content toward your daily target without checking the actual gram amount. More comparisons built spec first, marketing second, sit in the reviews section.

Common questions

  • Is there a best greens powder for PCOS specifically?

    No product has been tested in PCOS, so there is no evidence-based 'best' pick for the condition. The real buying decision is disclosure and testing: whether a brand states individual ingredient amounts or hides them in a proprietary blend, and whether any certification claim is independently checkable.
  • What does 'proprietary blend' mean on a greens powder label?

    It means the label lists ingredients by name in descending order by weight and states the blend's total combined weight, but does not have to disclose how much of any single ingredient is inside — a legal FDA labeling allowance, not a red flag on its own, but it means you cannot verify a studied dose.
  • Do greens powders contain enough fiber to count as a vegetable serving?

    No. The products compared here supply roughly 2 to 6 grams of fiber per serving, against a 25-to-30-gram daily target, and none replace the water, potassium, and intact plant structure whole vegetables provide.
  • Are greens powders safe if I take warfarin?

    Check the vitamin K line on the Supplement Facts panel first — it must be disclosed by law even inside a blend. A systematic review found the clearest anticoagulation effect above roughly 150 micrograms a day of dietary vitamin K, and found consistency of intake mattered more than the specific amount. Tell your prescriber before starting one.
  • Is heavy metal contamination in greens powders a real concern?

    Yes, specifically for algae- and spirulina-based ingredients. A 2021 study found arsenic levels of concern in 8 of 33 tested algae-based supplements, and a 2023 study found microcystin cyanotoxins in all 5 spirulina products it tested. A genuine third-party certification is the most checkable safeguard currently available.
  • Which greens powders are actually third-party tested?

    Of the four compared here, AG1 carries NSF Certified for Sport and Transparent Labs Greens carries Informed Choice certification — both independently verifiable. Bloom and Organifi state they are third-party tested without a checkable certification mark identified on the label at time of publication.

More on this

Sources

  1. 1.Cheyns K, Demaegdt H, Waegeneers N, Ruttens A. Intake of food supplements based on algae or cyanobacteria may pose a health risk due to elevated concentrations of arsenic species. Food Addit Contam Part A Chem Anal Control Expo Risk Assess. 2021.
  2. 2.Rhoades J, Fotiadou S, Paschalidou G, et al. Microbiota and Cyanotoxin Content of Retail Spirulina Supplements and Spirulina Supplemented Foods. Microorganisms. 2023.
  3. 3.Violi F, Lip GYH, Pignatelli P, Pastori D. Interaction Between Dietary Vitamin K Intake and Anticoagulation by Vitamin K Antagonists: Is It Really True? A Systematic Review. Medicine (Baltimore). 2016.
  4. 4.U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter IV. Nutrition Labeling — proprietary blend disclosure requirements.
  5. 5.Teede HJ, Khomami MB, Morman R, et al. Polyendocrine metabolic ovarian syndrome, the new name for polycystic ovary syndrome: a multistep global consensus process. Lancet. 2026.

Find your PCOS type

Loading the questions…