At-Home PCOS Test Kits: What They Measure and What They Cannot Diagnose
8 min read
A registered dietitian and clinician review is being arranged for this site. Until this article carries a named reviewer, treat it as a well-sourced summary of published guidance — not as a substitute for advice about your own case.
The short answer
At-home kits measure 2 to 6 hormones — usually testosterone, LH, FSH and AMH — from a finger-prick or mail-in sample. None can diagnose PCOS alone: the Rotterdam criteria require 2 of 3 findings, and one of those, polycystic ovarian morphology, needs an ultrasound no kit performs. Use a kit to screen, not to diagnose.
What do at-home PCOS test kits actually measure?
Nearly every kit sold as a “PCOS test” measures some combination of five hormones: total testosterone, luteinizing hormone (LH), follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH), sex hormone-binding globulin (SHBG), and anti-Müllerian hormone (AMH) — the same panel covered in full in PCOS blood tests: the panel to ask for. Most collect a capillary (finger-prick) blood sample you mail to a partner lab; a smaller number ship a kit for a full venous draw at a local lab-partner location instead. What none of them do is image your ovaries, take a clinical history, or rule out the other conditions that mimic PCOS — three things a full work-up requires.
Can a blood test alone diagnose PCOS?
No. The Rotterdam criteria, the diagnostic framework still used worldwide and reaffirmed in the 2023 international guideline, require two of three findings: irregular or absent ovulation, clinical or biochemical signs of excess androgens, and polycystic ovarian morphology on ultrasound — plus ruling out other causes such as thyroid disease or high prolactin. A hormone panel can supply evidence for one of those three criteria (biochemical hyperandrogenism) and can help rule out mimics, but it cannot supply the ultrasound finding, and it cannot substitute for a clinician’s assessment of your cycle history. For the full mechanics of how those three criteria interact, see the Rotterdam criteria: the two-of-three rule, explained.
Comparing what is actually on the market
| Kit type | Sample | Hormones typically included | Turnaround | Can diagnose PCOS? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Finger-prick “PCOS” or “hormone health” panel (mail-in) | Capillary blood, self-collected | Testosterone, LH, FSH, SHBG (AMH on some panels) | Typically 3–7 business days | No — biochemical evidence only, one of three criteria |
| Mail-in venous draw with lab-partner visit | Venous blood, drawn at a partner lab or clinic | Same core panel, sometimes with prolactin and TSH added for mimic-ruling-out | Typically 2–5 business days after the draw | No — closer to a real lab draw, still no ultrasound or clinical exam |
| Single-hormone AMH test, sold as an “ovarian reserve” or “PCOS” indicator | Capillary or venous blood | AMH only | Typically 3–7 business days | No — AMH is not a Rotterdam diagnostic criterion by itself |
| Urine-based LH ovulation kits, marketed for “PCOS tracking” | Urine test strip | LH only, qualitative | Immediate (home read) | No — tracks a hormone surge, does not assess androgens or morphology |
| In-clinic bloodwork ordered by a doctor | Venous blood, drawn in-office | Full panel plus prolactin, TSH, 17-OH progesterone to exclude mimics | Typically 1–5 business days | Contributes one of three criteria — combined with history and ultrasound, this is how PCOS is actually diagnosed |
Disclosure: PCOSguides earns affiliate commission on some product links elsewhere on this site. No specific brand mentioned above is an affiliate link on this page. Kits are named because of what they actually measure, not because we are paid to mention them. Full affiliate disclosure.
How accurate is a finger-prick hormone test compared to a lab draw?
Zero large published studies directly compare consumer finger-prick PCOS panels against venous lab draws — that is the honest gap in the evidence. What does exist is a well-established, adjacent problem worth knowing before you trust any testosterone number a kit hands back. An Endocrine Society position statement, now nearly 20 years old, on measuring testosterone found that immunoassay-based methods — the cheaper, faster method used by most direct-to-consumer labs — “lack sensitivity and specificity” at the low concentrations typical of women’s blood, and recommended liquid chromatography–tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) for accurate results in women and children. Assay technology has improved since that statement was published, but the underlying problem — low female-range testosterone being harder to measure precisely than the much higher male range — has not gone away. Before trusting a borderline result from any kit, ask the company (or check the report) which method was used to measure testosterone specifically.
What about AMH test kits sold as a “PCOS test”?
Be skeptical of a kit built around AMH alone. A 2023 study reviewed 27 websites across seven countries selling direct-to-consumer AMH tests and found that 96% of the sites described the test as indicating ovarian reserve and 74% described it as indicating likelihood of conceiving — claims the study’s authors flagged as overstated relative to what AMH testing can actually support, given how much AMH varies with age, cycle timing and assay platform, and how weakly it predicts an individual’s chance of conceiving. AMH does tend to run higher in PCOS on average, but the 2023 international guideline does not recommend AMH as a stand-alone diagnostic criterion or a replacement for ultrasound. For what an AMH number does and does not tell you, see AMH in PCOS: what the number means and why it is not a diagnosis.
Does your phenotype change which kit makes sense?
At the margins, yes — three scenarios point to three different answers.
If you already have a clear PCOS diagnosis and irregular cycles, and you are using a kit to monitor trends over time rather than to get a first diagnosis, a finger-prick panel that repeats the same hormones every few months is a reasonable, lower-cost way to track direction — rising or falling testosterone, for instance — between full clinic visits.
If you have never been diagnosed and are trying to work out whether PCOS explains your symptoms, a kit is a reasonable first screen, but budget for a follow-up clinical visit either way: a positive result needs a clinician to interpret it against your cycle history and, if warranted, an ultrasound; a negative or borderline result on an immunoassay-based panel is not strong enough evidence to rule PCOS out on its own.
If your main concern is fertility timing rather than a PCOS diagnosis specifically, an AMH-only kit is the weakest single purchase on this list for that purpose — it estimates egg quantity roughly, not quality, and does not predict your odds of conceiving in a given cycle.
What is not worth buying
- Any kit marketed as diagnosing PCOS from blood alone, with no mention of ultrasound or a clinical history intake. That claim does not match the Rotterdam criteria.
- An AMH-only test marketed primarily as a fertility countdown. The evidence above shows this claim is common in DTC marketing and stronger than the science supports.
- Any kit that does not disclose its testosterone assay method when you ask. If a company cannot tell you whether it uses immunoassay or LC-MS/MS, that is itself useful information.
- Repeat-testing more than the kit’s own guidance recommends in hopes of a different result. LH and testosterone both fluctuate across a cycle; a single day’s reading is a snapshot, not a trend.
Home kits are one tool for tracking hormone trends over time; for tracking blood glucose the same way, see how the two most talked-about over-the-counter continuous glucose monitors compare in Stelo vs Lingo for PCOS.
This condition was also renamed in 2026: a global consensus of more than 50 organisations adopted polyendocrine metabolic ovarian syndrome, or PMOS, in place of PCOS. Nothing about how these tests work, or what the Rotterdam criteria require, changes with the name; this article uses PCOS because that is what most readers are searching.
Common questions
Can an at-home test kit diagnose PCOS?
No. The Rotterdam criteria require two of three findings - irregular ovulation, signs of excess androgens, and polycystic ovarian morphology on ultrasound - plus ruling out other conditions. A blood panel can supply evidence for one of those three; it cannot replace an ultrasound or a clinician's assessment.What hormones do at-home PCOS test kits measure?
Most measure some combination of total testosterone, LH, FSH, SHBG and AMH from a finger-prick or venous sample. Coverage varies by brand and price tier - check the specific panel before buying if you want a particular hormone included.Are home hormone tests as accurate as a doctor's blood test?
It depends on the assay method, which is often not disclosed. Immunoassay-based testosterone testing, the cheaper method most DTC labs use, has documented accuracy limits at the low concentrations typical in women, according to an Endocrine Society position statement. Ask which method a kit uses before trusting a borderline result.Is an AMH test the same as a PCOS test?
No. AMH tends to run higher on average in PCOS, but it is not a Rotterdam diagnostic criterion by itself and does not reliably predict fertility timing. A 2023 study found the large majority of websites selling direct-to-consumer AMH tests overstated what the result can tell you about conceiving.What is a mail-in PCOS blood test and how is it different from a finger-prick kit?
A mail-in blood test typically involves a venous draw at a partner lab location rather than a self-collected finger-prick sample, which generally gives a larger, more reliable sample for the same hormone panel. Turnaround time is similar for both.
What to do with your result
Whatever a kit reports back, treat it as one data point toward a conversation with a clinician, not as the final word. Bring the actual numbers, the reference ranges printed on the report, and your cycle history to that appointment — that combination is what turns a hormone panel into a real diagnostic picture.
More comparisons built the same way — spec first, marketing claim second — sit in the complete guide to the best PCOS products, including electrolyte drinks compared on sugar, sodium and what you actually need.
- Best Snacks at Costco for PCOS: What's Actually Worth the MembershipCostco snacks for PCOS compared by protein, fibre and sugar per serving — rotisserie chicken to Kirkland bars — so bulk size doesn't mean bulk sugar.
- Best Snacks to Buy at Trader Joe's for PCOS, by the LabelTrader Joe's snacks for PCOS compared by protein, fibre and sugar per serving — jerky to dried mango — so the cheerful packaging doesn't hide the sugar number.
- Best Frozen Meals for PCOS: Protein, Carbs and Sodium ComparedSix frozen meals compared on protein, carbohydrate, fibre and sodium per pack, the protein threshold that actually holds hunger, and how to fix a low-protein one.
- Best Greens Powder for PCOS: What the Proprietary Blend Label HidesNo greens powder has PCOS-specific evidence. A label-by-label comparison of blend disclosure, fiber grams, and lab-tested contamination in spirulina products.
Sources
- 1.Rotterdam ESHRE/ASRM-Sponsored PCOS Consensus Workshop Group. Revised 2003 Consensus on Diagnostic Criteria and Long-Term Health Risks Related to Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. Fertil Steril. 2004.
- 2.Teede HJ, Tay CT, Laven JJE, et al. Recommendations From the 2023 International Evidence-Based Guideline for the Assessment and Management of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2023.
- 3.Rosner W, Auchus RJ, Azziz R, Sluss PM, Raff H. Position Statement: Utility, Limitations, and Pitfalls in Measuring Testosterone: An Endocrine Society Position Statement. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2007.
- 4.Johnson A, Thompson R, Nickel B, Shih P, Hammarberg K, Copp T. Websites Selling Direct-to-Consumer Anti-Müllerian Hormone Tests. JAMA Netw Open. 2023.
- 5.Teede HJ, Khomami MB, Morman R, et al. Polyendocrine Metabolic Ovarian Syndrome, the New Name for Polycystic Ovary Syndrome: A Multistep Global Consensus Process. Lancet. 2026.